Subsection 1.-Services of the Department of Agriculture

Broadly speaking, the activities of the Department of Agriculture may be grouped under three headings: research, promotional and regulatory services, and assistance programs. Research work is aimed at the solution of practical farm problems through the application of fundamental scientific research to all aspects of soil management and crop and animal production. Regulatory services are directed toward the prevention or eradication of crop and livestock pests, the inspection and grading of agricultural products and the promotion of sound policies for crop and livestock improvement. Assistance programs cover the sphere of soil and water conservation, price stability, and a degree of crop insurance and income security in the event of crop failure. The Department employs a staff of about 9,000 persons.

A new departmental organization, effective from Apr. 1, 1959, provides for a regrouping of the various units into branches concerned with the broad lines of activity mentioned above. This change supersedes an organizational framework that has been in effect since 1937 and is an effort to bring the Department more closely in line with presentday needs.

The main features of the plan are the establishment of a Research Branch that will integrate the former Experimental Farms and Science Services; the incorporation of the Marketing Service and Production Service into one unit to be known as the Production and Marketing Branch; and the establishment of an Administration Branch that will take care of departmental administration and will also embrace the Information Division and the Economics Division, the latter formerly associated with the Marketing Service. Ultimately, and subject to legislative approval, a fourth branch may be established to embrace conservation and rehabilitation activities and possibly other new lines of work. Each Branch is to be headed by an Assistant Deputy Minister.

Research Branch.—The Research Branch is the principal research agency of the Department. It conducts a broad program of scientific investigation covering both basic studies and practical attacks on agricultural and forest biology problems. There are seven Research Institutes at Ottawa. Three Research Institutes, six Regional Research Stations, three Regional Research Laboratories, 27 Experimental Farms, 22 Laboratories, two Forest Nursery Stations, and 17 Substations are located throughout the ten provinces and the Yukon and Northwest Territories. In 1958 the Central Experimental Farm at Ottawa was extended by some 4,000 acres.

The Research Branch serves all principal agricultural and forest areas in Canada and co-ordinates its efforts with the National Research Council, universities and kindred agencies. One staff, under the new organization, will be charged with the planning and co-ordination of the program and another with the administration required to carry it out. Five directors representing divisions of animals, crops, soils, entomology and plant pathology, and forest biology will assist the programming of the work. The three research services of Statistics, Engineering and Analytical Chemistry—located with the Administrative and Executive group at Ottawa—will provide research groups across the country with specialized leadership and service and undertake critical researches or other creative work as required.

The Institutes.—The Institutes are organized on a scientific rather than a problem basis and are engaged primarily on basic research of wide application to agriculture and forest biology. They also carry out related national work such as the identification of plants, insects and pathogens. There are seven Institutes at Ottawa and one each at London, Belleville and Sault Ste. Marie, all in Ontario.

The Animal Research Institute covers the fields of genetics and breeding, nutrition, physiology, biochemistry and management, and tackles problems in the production of milk, beef, lamb, pork, poultry, eggs and fur.